Freckles by Amy Lane

Title ➷ Freckles

Author ➷  Amy Lane

Expected publication ➷ 14 Nov 2016  ✔️

Published by ➷ Riptide Publishing

Genre ➷ Contemporary, Holiday, M/M Romance 💕

Read ➷ Kindle Edition, English

Word count ➷ Approximately 45,000 words

Price ➷ $4.99(US)

My Rating: 🌟🌟

♦️ Synopsis:

Carter Embree has always hoped to be rescued from his productive, tragically boring, and (slightly) ethically compromised life. But when an urchin at a grocery store shoves a bundle of fluff into his hands, Carter goes from rescuee to rescuer—and he needs a little help.

Sandy Corrigan, the vet tech who helps ease Carter into the world of dog ownership, first assumes that Carter is a crazy-pants client who just needs to relax. But as Sandy gets a glimpse into the funny, kind, sexy man under Carter’s mild-mannered exterior, he sees that with a little care and feeding, Carter might be Super-Pet Owner—and decent boyfriend material to boot.

But Carter needs to see himself as a hero first. As he says good-bye to his pristine house and hello to carpet treatments and dog walkers, he finds that there really is more to himself than a researching drudge without a backbone. A Carter Embree can rate a Sandy Corrigan. He can be supportive, he can be a hero, he can be a man who stands up for his principles!

He can be the owner of a small dog.

Characters  ➷ Carter Embree, Sandy Corrigan

 

Each year, Riptide Publishing releases a holiday collection in support of an LGBTQ charity.

Twenty percent of the proceeds of this title will be donated to The Trevor Project.

Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.

♦️ Riina’s Review: 

Pretty simple plot, a furry companion (Yay puppies!!!) and a blurb promising a sweet romance, what more can you want?

Well, for me it would be characters I instantly feel some sort of attachment, which I sadly didn’t.

One day Carter runs into a kid giving away puppies. The last puppy is for him. Carter has never had a pet in his life and doesn’t know what to do with a puppy of all things! He can’t part with the tiny fur ball  though, so he brings the little thing into the vet clinic where Sandy works.

Sandy didn’t give me a warm and fuzzy feeling the first time we meet him but I think Carter kind of liked him, which is probably a good thing. Sandy too, he’s instantly enamored with Carter and his little dog.

As most stories go, they get talking, become closer, friends. Date. Etc.

I don’t have a bad thing to say about the book it just didn’t charm me.

I was sadly not enamored with the characters 😦

The blurb sounded promising, thought it could be a cute story and I had this ‚Yeah, I’d really like to try this book‘ moment. And yes, it is a cute idea but sadly I wasn’t smitten with the characters; their voices as well as the storytelling (style) didn’t charm me 😦

 

Since this was mostly a personal miss I can still recommend it. I am sure there are many readers out there who will enjoy the author’s work!

I always feel a little down when receiving a book as a reviewing copy and then not enjoying it. I’m sorry I can’t leave amazing feedback this time but I appreciate been given the opportunity to check out the author’s work.

I also appreciate the author’s time and effort in creating and sharing this story. I wish I could say I had more fun but perhaps next time.

 


Many, many thanks to the publisher who kindly provided a free copy for an honest and impartial review.💕

♦️Purchase Links: 

Print and ebook as well as a sample can be found here: Get it now.

Part of 2016 Holiday Charity Bundle ! <- get your collection discount!

Professional Reader80% Reviews Published 100 Book Reviews 2016 NetGalley Challenge

Leave a Reply

