Hotline (Murmur Inc. #1) by Quinn Anderson

Title ➷ Hotline (Murmur Inc. #1)

Author ➷ by Quinn Anderson

Expected publication ➷ October 31st 2016 ✔️

Published by ➷ Riptide Publishing

Genre ➷ New Adult, Contemporary, Comedy, M/M Romance 💕

Type ➷ Standalone

Read ➷ Kindle Edition, English

Word count ➷ Approximately 94,300

Price ➷ $6.99 (US)

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

♦️ Synopsis:

Zack never intended to become a phone sex operator, but with half a college degree and a smart mouth, his options were limited. It helps that he has a knack for thinking on his feet and a willingness to roll with whatever his clients throw at him. Sure, he gets his fair share of creeps and unconventional requests, but it pays the bills, and he’s in no danger of breaking his one rule: never fall for a client.

Until a man named “John” starts calling, and Zack finds himself interested in more than a paycheck. It’s not just that John has money, or that his rumbling baritone drives Zack wild. He’s everything Zack isn’t: educated, poised, and in total control of his life.

A twist of fate brings them face-to-face, and now that they’ve seen each other—and spent an unforgettable night together—they can’t go back to the way things were. A sex worker and a trust fund brat . . . It’s like Romeo and Juliet, but with less stabbing and slightly fewer dick jokes. Hopefully they can pull off a more successful ending.

Series ➷ #1 of the Murmur Inc.  series.

Characters ➷ Zack, John

♦️ Riina’s Review:

Fun, fun, fun!

I absolutely loved this book!

It was a perfect read for my taste — funny but not in a overly humorous way, incredibly sexy and kind of sweet all over without being icky sticky sugar coated and all that (something I do like as well though).

The story is very slow-paced but I found not a single thing boring, which I assume would speak for the author and her ability to create fun and entertaining characters, because I get bored very quickly if I’m not fully invested.

I like the detail that went into the story telling and, most of all, I totally adore Zack’s character, which you ought to do to fully enjoy the story, I think.

The author dedicates a great amount of the story to Zack, establishing his character and introducing his friends and family before throwing in the romance.

It’s something I either love or hate, depending on how much I like the characters. In this case though, it was pretty perfect for me. I enjoyed getting a closer look, meeting all he people in his life. I might just be lucky that the author likes her characters the way I do, hence I adored them all!

Zack is like my ideal twenty-one-year-old. He’s pretty and self-confident, maybe a bit cocky but who doesn’t like some attention, right?

I love the way he talks and the way he feels, his naivety included. He’s not perfect, still very young and easily irritated which leads him to speak before he thinks, sometimes.

His friends Kira and Alexa (and Lee, who we sadly only see a couple times) had great chemistry and it was always fun when they were around.

And the romance, oh, the romance. Tickled all my boxes. So down for more!

So the romance. It’s been there, sort of, for a while but he and John don’t meet in person for a long time… but when they do, their chemistry is off the charts.

They meet via Murmur Inc. where Zack works as a PSO. I loved the mystery that surrounded John for a few chapters (until we meet him in person, and even then he was a bit of a mystery). When he calls in the first time, I did assume he was an older guy, rich and spoiled and all that. Turns out he is quite loaded and a tad spoiled, but he’s a lot younger.

So in case you’re wondering, the story is pretty New Adult through and through.

Back to Zack. He enjoys working as a phone sex operator, and he’s incredibly talented, but it’s never been his dream job and he doesn’t fully commit to it. I liked that he wasn’t obsessed about it, but enjoyed it well enough. Because of his lack of investment his boss has been on his ass for a while, trying to get him to switch to cam work or get better at keeping regulars and earn some real money.

Until John comes along, Zack hadn’t felt the need or had the energy to outdo his colleagues. But with John, everything was so much better and easier.

They already had that sizzling chemistry on the phone and done truly some of the best scenes together.

There is some insanely hot role-play, about three different scenes. I’m still craving more to be honest. They were just as sexy as their actual time together.

When having only one person’s POV it’s always a bit difficult to fully get the other guy, which I’d say is probably my biggest complaint.

I instantly liked John when we first met him, but he seemed too good to be true, just like Zack thought.

I didn’t quite get why he did what he did later on, the thing that kind of makes you wanna punch the guy. I guess every person is different and therefore I try to understand other people’s actions and reactions, even if their fictional, because the person behind it must have had reasons and all that.

Just saying there are bits that I didn’t quite get and that I’d liked to learn more about John, because we don’t get to see all that much in the time they’re together. Mostly, we just don’t know what he’s thinking.

In the end I really liked John and as I said before, their chemistry is just wonderful.

Hotline has a lot of pages but I hardly noticed the length. I wouldn’t have minded a few more chapters. I would read a sequel if there ever was one.

Thank you for creating Zack and the others, such lovely guys.
I’m glad I got the chance to meet them.

Highly recommended!

Many, many thanks to the publisher who kindly provided a free copy for an honest and impartial review.💕

♦️Purchase Links:

The e-book, as well as a sample, can be found here:

Get it now.

Professional Reader80% Reviews Published 100 Book Reviews 2016 NetGalley Challenge

Leave a Reply

